The Lord of the Rings saga was going to consist of six books

Lord of the Rings, Tolkien’s unforgettable saga, was going to be six books.

These were their working titles:

Book 1: The First Journey, The Ring Sets Out, or The Return of the Shadow.

Book 2: The Journey of the Nine Companions, or The Ring Goes South.

Book 3: The Treason of Isengard.

Book 4: The Journey of the Ring-bearers, or The Ring Goes East.

Book 5: The War of the Ring.

Book 6: The End of the Third Age.

As you can see, lots of them were going to include the word “journey” in the title.



No responses

Add comment